Air-through bonding: production parameters vs. product properties

Administrator
5
0

Air-through bonding: production parameters vs. product properties

Non-woven fabric "air-through" is a three-dimensional porous fabric consisting of hot-melt fibers (two-component, a mixture of fibers with different melting temperatures) as the main material. Due to its characteristics, it is widely used in medicine and hygiene (women's and children's hygiene items), filtration (masks, air filters) and thermal insulation.

The principle of production of nonwoven fabric "air-through" is that hot air penetrates through a loose fibrous primary web (usually in the range from 20 to 200 g/m2) formed on a carding machine, melts a thermoplastic fiber with a lower melting point (or the shell of a two-component fiber) and ensures the fastening of the web at the intersections of the fibers, thus forming a non-woven material of a certain thickness and stable structure. The thermoplastic fiber is usually fibers with a low melting point (polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, etc.) and/or two-component fibers. Two-component fibers «shell-core » can also be mixed with monopolypropylene fibers «trilobal» or two-component splitting fibers in order to improve the softness and other tactile properties of nonwovens. The fibers of the primary web themselves are binders with respect to each other, which are glued together under the influence of the temperature of the hot air flow. Since no chemical binders are used in this process, it is considered environmentally friendly.

In this article we will consider the influence of parameters (temperature, time spent in the furnace) of the technological process "air-through" on the quality of the final product. To do this, let's imagine. that we are participating in a production experiment in which two types of raw materials are used - two different two-component fibers (polyethylene/polypropylene), one 2.22 dtex* 38 mm, and the other 1.67 dtex* 38 mm. Both of them are a type of two-component fiber "shell-core". As a shell, we have polyethylene with a melting point of 125-130 °C, and as a core, polypropylene with a melting point of 165-170 °C.

The experiment is carried out on a standard production line (fiber loosening, mixing, feeding, carding, hot air bonding, cooling, stretching, compacting and winding), which provides a coefficient of variation in the density of the primary web within 5% and a constant uniform temperature throughout the working area of the furnace. Two types of raw materials are mixed in a ratio of 1:1 and enter the carding machine to form the primary web. Then the cloth is fed into a special furnace on a perforated heat-resistant conveyor belt, where the process of fastening the cloth with hot air flows takes place. The furnace temperature and the belt speed are regulated in order to achieve optimal values for melting the fiber shell (PE). Melting, it forms melt droplets that bind the fibers along the entire cross-section of the web, thus creating a non-woven material bonded by hot air.

Now let's look at how a hypothetical change in the parameters of the production process will affect such characteristics of the material as thickness, tensile strength, liquid permeability.

Thickness

  • as the density of the fabric increases, the thickness also increases;
  • with an increase in the temperature of the hot air, the thickness of the fabric tends to decrease, since with a further increase in temperature, the area of the melted and glued sections of the fabric increases, which, with subsequent stretching and compacting, makes the nonwoven more dense.

Tensile strength

  • with a higher weight of the web, the tensile strength of the web increases accordingly, both in the longitudinal and transverse directions;
  • the strength of the web in the longitudinal direction exceeds its strength in the transverse direction, which is explained by the production process in which most of the fibers are laid in the longitudinal direction;
  • with a corresponding increase in temperature, the tensile strength of the material in the longitudinal and transverse directions increases;
  • with an increase in temperature in the range from 123 °C to 127 °C, the tensile strength of the material increases faster than with an increase in temperature in the range from 127 °C to 139 °C. This is due to the fact that the initial melting point of the two-component fiber shell (PE) is in the range of 125°C-130°C, and when the temperature reaches this range, the strength of the material increases at a higher rate.

Liquid permeability

  • the time of passage of the liquid increases with the increase in the grammage of the web, since with a larger mass the web becomes thicker and acquires greater porosity, which lengthens the time of passage of the liquid through it, so it must pass through all the pores;
  • for the same tissue sample with the same weight, the time of fluid passage through it for the first, second and third times gradually increases;
  • with a higher web weight, the reverse flow of liquid increases accordingly. This is due to the fact that with a high mass and thickness, more liquid remains in the web, which causes a greater return flow.

Summary

With the same production process, the thickness of the web increases along with an increase in its density. When the density of the material remains unchanged, a higher temperature will lead to a decrease in the thickness of the material.

The mass of nonwoven fabric has a huge impact on its strength. With the same production parameters, an increase in temperature will increase the tensile strength of the material in both longitudinal and transverse directions.

The mass of nonwoven fabric is an important factor affecting the permeability of the liquid and the amount of backflow. With increasing mass, the time of passage of the liquid and the volume of the reverse flow of the liquid respectively increases. Thus, reducing the weight of nonwoven fabric is one of the solutions to increase the comfort and absorbency of nonwoven fabrics.

Comments

Name
E-mail
Rating
Review of the article

Air-through bonding: параметры производства vs. свойства продукта

Administrator
85
0

Air-through bonding: параметры производства vs. свойства продукта

Нетканый материал «air-through» представляет собой трехмерное пористое полотно, состоящее из термоплавких волокон (двукомпонентные, смеска волокон с разными температурами плавления) в качестве основного материала. Благодаря своим характеристикам он широко используется в медицине и гигиене (предметы женской и детской гигиены), фильтрации (маски, воздушные фильтры) и теплоизоляции.

Принцип производства нетканого материала «air-through» заключается в том, что горячий воздух проникает через рыхлое волокнистое первичное полотно (обычно в диапазоне от 20 до 200 г/м2), сформированное на кардочесальной машине, расплавляет термопластичное волокно с меньшей температурой плавления (или оболочку двукомпонентного волокна) и обеспечивает скрепление полотна в местах пересечения волокон, таким образом образуя нетканый материал определенной толщины и стабильной структуры. В качестве термопластичного волокна обычно выступают волокна с низкой температурой плавления (полиэтилен, полипропилен, полиэтилентерефталат и т. д.) и/или двухкомпонентные волокна. Двухкомпонентные волокна «оболочка-сердечник» могут также смешиваться с монополипропиленовыми волокнами «трилобал» или двухкомпонентными расщепляющимися волокнами с целью улучшения мягкости и других тактильных свойств нетканых материалов. Сами волокна первичного полотна являются связующими по отношению друг к другу, которые склеиваются под действием температуры потока горячего воздуха. Так как в данном процессе не используются химические связующие, он считается экологически чистым.

В данной статье мы рассмотрим влияние параметров (температура, время нахождения полотна в печи) технологического процесса «air-through» на качество конечного продукта. Для этого давайте представим. что мы участвуем в производственном эксперименте, в котором используется два вида сырья - два разных двухкомпонентных волокна (полиэтилен/полипропилен), одно 2,22 дтекс*38 мм, а другое 1,67 дтекс*38 мм. Оба они представляют собой тип двухкомпонентного волокна «оболочка-сердечник». В качестве оболочки мы имеем полиэтилен с температурой плавления 125-130°С, а в качестве сердечника - полипропилен с температурой плавления 165-170°С.

Эксперимент проводится на стандартной производственной линии (рыхление волокон, смешивание, подача, кардочесание, скрепление горячим воздухом, охлаждение, вытягивание, компактирование и намотка), обеспечивающей коэффициент вариации плотности первичного полотна в пределах 5% и постоянную однородную температуру по всей рабочей зоне печи. Два вида сырья смешиваются в пропорции 1:1 и поступают в кардочесальную машину для формирования первичного полотна. Затем полотно подается в специальную печь на перфорированной термостойкой конвейерной ленте, где происходит процесс скрепления полотна потоками горячего воздуха. Температура печи и скорость ленты регулируется с целью достижения оптимальных значений для расплавления оболочки волокна (PE). Плавясь, она образовывает капли расплава, которые связывают волокна по всему поперечному сечению полотна, таким образом создавая нетканый материал, скрепленный горячим воздухом.

Теперь давайте рассмотрим, как гипотетическое изменение параметров производственного процесса повлияет на такие характеристики материала, как толщина, прочность на растяжение, жидкостную проницаемость.

Толщина

  • при увеличении плотности ткани толщина также увеличивается;
  • при повышении температуры горячего воздуха толщина ткани имеет тенденцию к уменьшению, так как при дальнейшем повышении температуры увеличивается площадь расплавленных и склеенных участков полотна, что, при последующем вытягивании и компактировании делает нетканый материал более плотным.

Прочность на растяжение

  • при более высокой массе полотна, соответственно увеличивается прочность полотна на растяжение как в продольном, так и в поперечном направлении;
  • прочность полотна в продольном направлении превосходит его прочность в поперечном направлении, что объясняется производственным процессом, при котором большая часть волокон укладывается в продольном направлении;
  • при сообразном повышении температуры прочность на растяжение материала в продольном и поперечном направлениях увеличивается;
  • при повышении температуры в диапазоне от 123 °С до 127 °С прочность на растяжение материала повышается быстрее, чем при повышении температуры в диапазоне от 127 °С до 139 °С. Это связано с тем, что начальная температура плавления оболочки двухкомпонентного волокна (ПЭ) находится в диапазоне 125°С-130°С, и когда температура достигает этого диапазона, прочность материала повышается с более высокой скоростью.

Жидкостная проницаемость

  • время прохождения жидкости увеличивается с увеличением граммажа полотна, так как при большей массе полотно становится толще и приобретает большую пористость, что удлиняет время прохождения жидкости через него, так она должна пройти через все поры;
  • для одного и того же образца ткани с одинаковым весом время прохождения жидкости через него в первый, второй и третий раз постепенно увеличивается;
  • при более высокой массе полотна соответственно увеличивается обратный поток жидкости. Это связано с тем, что при высокой массе и толщине в полотне остается больше жидкости, что вызывает больший обратный поток.

Резюме

При одном и том же производственном процессе толщина полотна увеличивается вместе с увеличением его плотности. Когда плотность материала остается неизменной, более высокая температура приведет к уменьшению толщины материала.

Масса нетканого материала оказывает огромное влияние на его прочность. При одних и тех же производственных параметрах повышение температуры повысит прочность материала на растяжение как в продольном, так и в поперечном направлениях.

Масса нетканого материала является важным фактором, влияющим на проницаемость жидкости и величину обратного потока. С увеличением массы соответственно увеличивается время прохождения жидкости и объем обратного потока жидкости. Таким образом, снижение веса нетканого материала является одним из решений для повышения комфорта и впитывающей способности нетканых материалов.

Комментарии

Имя
E-mail
Рейтинг
Отзыв